Confessions of a Fitness Junkie

Tech training tools can provide motivation to the unmotivated

Posted on: June 15, 2011

  • In: Links
  • Comments Off on Tech training tools can provide motivation to the unmotivated

Over the past couple of months, I have become a “runner.” My first running goal was a quarter marathon (6.55 miles) this past May. I didn’t  really intend on running any additional races after that. After finishing the quarter marathon with a time of 1:03 (my goal was just to run the race without stopping/walking!), I was hooked! So, I decided to start training for the Columbus half-marathon (13.1 miles) which takes place in October. But, I wasn’t sure where to look for training tools. Training for the quarter marathon was fairly easy for me. I imagined training for the half would be a whole different story!

Lucky me, there are tons of FREE training tools and apps out there. And not just for running. There are tools for tracking your diet, strength training, even swimming! I know that I look forward to all of my training runs because it means I get to use my Nike Sportband. The Nike+ app turns your training runs into a game of tag with friends, or you can set goals or see other runners’ routes in your area. It definitely makes running a lot more fun!

Below are my favorite fitness apps. They really help to keep training interesting for me by showing me what sort of progress I’m making. If you’re looking for motivation for your own training – why not find an app that motivates you and makes your exercise routine more interesting?

My Fitness Pal – Amazing app/website for tracking calories, exercise and weight loss.

Nike Running – If you have an iPhone or iPod Touch, this app is amazing. iPhone users will get the most use out of the app, but iPod touch users can benefit from most of it with a Wi-Fi connection.

Shape Flat Abs – some great abdominal exercises from Shape magazine.

Jillian Michaels Fitness Motivation – lots of cool stuff here, from exercise tracker, running router (needs access to GPS for this feature), strength training exercises

Everyday Health – offers daily tips for staying healthy, from how to manage stress eating to getting over jet lag. Also has loads of information on various health conditions.

Couch to 5K – looking to become a runner but not sure how to start? This C25K app is great!

Do you have a favorite app? Let me know in the comments!

Support Me!

Have a question?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Tweet, Tweet

