Confessions of a Fitness Junkie

Have a little faith…

Posted on: June 24, 2011

So, I know this blog is supposed to be all about health and wellness and fitness, but I would like to take a break from our regularly scheduled post to talk a little about faith.

(Personally, I don’t feel like this is off-topic because for some – like me – your faith is all about your inner-wellness.)

I listened to Jillian Michael’s latest podcast the other day as I was driving home. (She has GREAT podcasts, by the way.) In it, she talked about how life-changing it can be when you relinquish control and just let things happen that are supposed to happen; that you should listen to your gut and be willing to recognize when it’s telling you to make a change in your life.

This is something I have always struggled with – being willing to let go, listen to my instincts, just have faith that I will land in the right place. I am the very definition of a control freak. Case in point – I can’t rollerblade. And it’s not just because I have weak ankles (though they’re getting stronger) and a horrible center of balance (all those dance classes did me no good). It’s because, when I get going at a decent speed, I freak out. I feel like I am losing control, and I immediately roll into the grass. Makes for very slow-going rollerblading.

This is something I need to work on. I need to learn that it is ok not to be in control of every facet of my life. I need to have faith that something bigger than me is putting these thoughts into my head and on my heart, and it’s ok to listen to that. It might even be good for me.

What about you? Do you find it easy to have faith and give in to your inner voice?

1 Response to "Have a little faith…"

I couldn’t agree more, Mindy! The hardest thing for any of us to do is to put our trust in the unknown. I think of church as my spiritual gym where I go to train my faith muscles so I can get better at this task. And my physical fitness regimen mirrors my faith training – I never thought I’d be able to run a mile, or two or three, let alone ride a bike for 43 miles! But I’ve learned that if I just keep putting one foot in front of the other and keep my focus on the road under my feet, before I know it I’ve covered more distance than I thought possible . . .

Comments are closed.

Support Me!

Have a question?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Tweet, Tweet

