Confessions of a Fitness Junkie

Marathon for the Cure

Posted on: September 1, 2011

I am officially registered to run in the Columbus Marathon (half-version!) on Sunday, October 16. As big of an accomplishment it will be for me personally to finish this race, I decided I didn’t want to just train and run – I wanted to do more. So, I signed up to be a member of Team Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure.

Like the Race for the Cure, this is another way to use your participation in an athletic event to help raise money for Komen Columbus, a group who’s mission is “To save lives and end breast cancer forever by empowering people, ensuring quality care for all and energizing science to find cures.” My life has been touched by so many courageous women over the years who have fought breast cancer valiantly – relatives, mentors, role models and friends. It saddens me to think just how many women I’ve known who’ve been diagnosed with this disease. It just makes me want to help that much more.

Maybe you read my blog because you know me personally and just like knowing what I’m up to. Maybe you don’t know me personally, but read it because you’re into health & fitness, too, and want another perspective on what it means to be healthy. Or, maybe you just like to read random blogs. Regardless of how you landed on this post, I hope you’ll consider supporting me and donating even a small amount to Team Komen Columbus Marathon for the Cure. I know I’ll appreciate it, as will the millions of women your donation could help to save.

CLICK HERE to help me raise money for Team Komen Columbus!

Support Me!

Have a question?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Tweet, Tweet

