Confessions of a Fitness Junkie

I think I’m ready…1 week until the half-marathon!

Posted on: October 9, 2011

  • In: Marathon Training
  • Comments Off on I think I’m ready…1 week until the half-marathon!

Dear friend,

If you’re not a first-time-visitor to this blog, then you probably know that I’ve been training for a 1/2 marathon. But, if you are a first-time visitor, first of all – WELCOME. Second – I’m training for a 1/2 marathon! 😉

I’m happy to say, my training is pretty much complete, and just in time, too, as the big race is next weekend! I’ve completed numerous runs in the past few weeks (2 miles to 11 miles), battled shin splints, battered elbows (thanks to one epic fall!), gone through 2 pairs of running shoes and now just have a couple of 2-3 mile maintenance runs to complete before next Sunday’s 13.1 race. I’m so excited!

The race will start at 7:30am, and I’ll be running with 17,000 of my closest friends from all over the world. My hope is to cross the finish line with a finishing time of 2hr 10min, averaging about 10min/mile. If you want to cheer me on online, I’ve signed up through TweetMyTime to send updates to both my Facebook page and my Twitterfeed as I pass certain checkpoints throughout the race. If you want to follow me through Twitter, you can find me @BroadwayMindy.

Many of my readers have generously sponsored me as I am running as part of Team Komen Marathon for the Cure. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU to those of you who have sponsored me! I can’t tell you how much it means to have you support me. It’s not too late to support my run by donating to Team Komen. I’m still hoping to reach a fundraising level of $1,000! If you still wish to donate, you can visit my page on Crowdrise HERE.

And, please feel free to tell your friends – it’s for a great cause!

Here’s to a good race next weekend! I’ve trained hard – I can’t wait to let you know how it goes! Thanks again for your support!!

Mindy

Support Me!

Have a question?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Tweet, Tweet

